Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Some of our services have temporarily stopped or changed. See our Changes to Council services page for services’ status and our Coronavirus updates section for latest information.

Key Borough Statistics

The borough of Tunbridge Wells is one of 12 local authority areas in the county of Kent. The borough borders four Kent authorities (Ashford, Maidstone, Sevenoaks and Tonbridge & Malling) and two within East Sussex (Rother and Wealden).

The borough covers 33,133 hectares and encompasses the thriving communities of Royal Tunbridge Wells, Cranbrook, Paddock Wood and Southborough as well as a number of thriving rural villages. 

  • 69% of the borough is designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB)
  • There are 10 Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI)
  • 22% of the borough's land is designated as Green Belt
  • The borough has 25 conservation areas
  • There are approximately 3,000 listed buildings
  • There are 41 historic parks and gardens

Ward structure

The borough is made up of 20 ward areas (administrative units) which are represented by your local ward members (Borough Councillors). Eight of these wards are located within the main urban area of Royal Tunbridge Wells.

Tunbridge Wells Ward Map

A - Z of council services