Skip to main content

Council’s new Cabinet

Council Leader announces Cabinet. At the Annual Meeting of the Council on Wednesday 29 May 2024 Council Leader Ben Chapelard announced his new Cabinet.

Cabinet members

Councillor Justine Rutland – Economic Development and Deputy Leader
Councillor Astra Birch – Housing and Communities
Councillor Mark Ellis – Innovation and transformation
Councillor Christopher Hall – Finance and Property
Councillor Matt Lowe – Planning
Councillor Pamela Wilkinson – Sport, Leisure and Health
Councillor Rob Wormington – Environment and sustainability
You can read more about each of the Cabinet members here


Councillor Chapelard also confirmed the appointment of four champions to help the Council deliver its priorities:

Councillor Peter Lidstone (LD), Walking and Cycling Champion
Councillor Matthew Sankey (TWA), Local Business Champion
Councillor Corinna Keefe (LD), Charities and Voluntary Sector Champion
Councillor Bev Palmer (Cons), Armed Forces Covenant Champion


In his speech to members Councillor Chapelard welcomed returning and new councillors to the Council Chamber. He then set out the administration’s three priorities for the Council saying ‘I am unashamedly ambitious for our borough’:

  • Sustainable growth and climate action working to create a cleaner, green and carbon zero future
  • Vibrant economy supporting urban and rural economies to thrive, creating local jobs in our communities
  • Community wellbeing  supporting urban and rural communities to flourish and fulfil their potential to be caring, healthy, connected and inclusive

More from Tunbridge Wells Borough Council...